Visit to the Afrikaans Taal Monument

A lot of people may not know it but the “Heather” in Heather & Marc’s Adventures is actually born and bred Afrikaans speaking. I went to a public school where my first language was Afrikaans and my second language English. As I grew up I slowly learnt that the world is mostly English and that some of the words just don’t make sense in Afrikaans (especially in the technology industry). I mean, try translating Asymmetrical Digital Subscriber Line (ADSL) into Afrikaans and you end up with Asimmetriese Digitale Subskrupsie Lyn. Now that’s quite a mouth full! With that said, I still speak Afrikaans quite often and will always remember that it’s part of my roots, my heritage. And it’s NOT politically inclined as some people may think, it’s just part of who I am.

With that said, we decided to visit the Afrikaanse Taal Monument in Paarl one day. When we got up there I was swept away by the breathtaking views! I’ll let the pictures do most of the talking in this one! 😉

DSC02596 DSC02598 DSC02599 DSC02600 DSC02602 DSC02603 DSC02604 DSC02605 DSC02632 DSC02633 DSC02639 DSC02644 DSC02647 DSC02648 DSC02650 DSC02655

Leave a Reply

