A Day in the Stellenbosch Winelands

I needed a day away from home after I went on maternity leave. Sitting at home all day is not my idea of fun. I called up my mom and asked her if she was up for a quick outing. We called up my aunt and cousin to join in. 

With my Entertainer app we opted for Flavours Restaurant (when we got there the menu said The Vineyard Terrace) at Devonvalley Hotel, just up the road from where me and Marc got married. It was a stunner of a day and the views were breathtaking!

House red wine
Mom enjoying the sunshine and amazing views.

We ordered the house red and a passion fruit and lemonade for me and baby. The menu looked divine! Me and my cousin opted for a pork belly, mom went for steak and aunty went for lamb shank. We were delightfully surprised by the generous portions we were served. It’s been a while since we’ve had such big portions at a restaurant. And to top it all, the taste was out of this world! It was like special attention was given to every plate served. The vegetables blew my mind! If you are not a veggie fan, these veggies will change your mind.

Yummy pork belly
Now that is what we call a lamb shank!
I almost ate all mom’s veggies that she got with her steak. 😅

After lunch we took some pictures on the grounds. Through my whole pregnancy I have been wanting to take a dip in a crystal clear, big pool and this pool made me want to jump in! The atmosphere was so peaceful. We were having so much fun!

Group selfie! 📱
Beautiful pathways
That pool! 😍😍😍

After Flavours, we made a quick trip to The House of JC Le Roux. I’ve been there a few times but it’s always nice to visit. The decor is what I love most about this place. It makes you feel like you are in one of the glamour capitals of the world. It truly embodies Le Good Life. (My camera equipment failed me when taking pictures on the inside. 😳)

We went for the champagne and nougat pairing. I could only do the non-alcoholic ones but it was nice for a change. After our tasting we took some more pictures on the grounds. We love capturing memories and moments to reminisce about over family get togethers.

Entrance and trading hours for those that want to go. 😊

My aunt is very short and just about made it. 😅

Mother Daughter Selfie! 📷
Beautiful ending to a great day.
Leave a Reply

