Change is as Good as a Holiday!

I am 7 weeks postpartum and the last week has had its own set of crazy. For the past few weeks the weather has been terrible (it’s winter in South Africa at the moment). And to top it all, me and hubby had the flu and baby ended up with a cold (runny nose and a cough). I was keeping a close eye on him for a fever as I didn’t want my precious bundle to feel the horror of the flu like us. I got some great advice from a very good doctor on what to look out for and what items to keep at home. 

With all of this happening and baby not sleeping too well, I started feeling drained and not myself. Also being in the house all the time did not sit well with me. For a person that is constantly out and about getting things done, this is one of the worst things to deal with. Yes I went to the shop to grab something here and there but it was not what I needed. I needed a change to get out of this slump I found myself in. I also feel that keeping baby indoors all the time is not good for him but with him still needing to get his vaccination, I am not risking him getting sick for my sanity. Luckily he is going in the next couple of days and we’ll be able to go out and do things.

So with all of this in mind, I still needed a change. That change came in the form of a haircut by my very own personal stylist, my husband. 😆 Marc has been cutting my hair since we started dating back in university. He may not have the technique to style like my favourite hairdresser but whenever I need a trim at no cost, he’s the best. You see, my husband’s hand grows very quickly. I always get flack from people (mostly my mom) whenever I cut my hair but for me hair is just hair and it grows back. I am not a hair person and when it comes to styling mine, I’m useless! My whole life I only had my hair loose with a side parting, a ponytail or tied in a bun. So when I cut it, it needs to at least tie in a ponytail. Now being a mother with very little time for myself, I needed the shorter hair more than ever. And the cut is doing wonders for my mood! 😍 Will I miss my long hair, probably. But I am very happy with the knowledge that my hair can and will grow again. For now, I’m happy with the new look. 😊

Below is the “transformation”. 😅

Ps. How cute is my little boy? 😍

Hair Before
Snip! Snip! 💇
New Look
Leave a Reply

